August 23, 2005


As it was reported before, QUEEN + Paul Rodgers are to issue a live album on September 12th – to be followed in six weeks by a DVD. Recorded at Sheffield on May 9th, the double CD called “Return Of The Champions” omits only one song from the show, “Under Pressure”, but the rest is intact… save for the Eminem intro. Hopefully, the DVD will have the former, not the latter.

Disc 1:

1. Reaching Out
2. Tie Your Mother Down
3. I Want To Break Free
4. Fat Bottomed Girls
5. Wishing Well
6. Another One Bites The Dust
7. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
8. Say It’s Not True
9. ’39
10. Love Of My Life
11. Hammer To Fall
12. Feel Like Making Love
13. Let There Be Drums
14. I’m In Love With My Car
15. Guitar Solo
16. Last Horizon

Disc 2:

17. These Are The Days Of Our Lives
18. Radio Ga Ga
19. Can’t Get Enough
20. A Kind Of Magic
21. I Want It All
22. Bohemian Rhapsody
23. The Show Must Go On
24. All Right Now
25. We Will Rock You
26. We Are The Champions
27. God Save The Queen


While PINK FLOYD’s “The Wall” seemed queasy to many, it doesn’t lack consistency. To turn the concept head over heels – and, possibly, to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the album’s reign – Billy Sherwood took the trouble to produce a tribute to the record.“Back Against The Wall”, out on September 27th, gathers many of a prog rock heroes, even though some tracks have come from 2000’s “Pigs And Pyramids” album – see the tracklisting. Now, it won’t be boring, yet it also won’t whole anymore.

CD 1:

1. In The Flesh? – Adrian Belew, Alan White & Steve Porcaro
2. The Thin Ice – Ian Anderson & Tony Levin
3. Another Brick In The Wall Part 1 – Steve Morse & Billy Sherwood
4. The Happiest Days Of Our Lives – Billy Sherwood & Vinnie Colaiuta
5. Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 – Fee Waybill, Ronnie Montrose, Mike Porcaro & Greg Bissonette
6. Mother – John Wetton, Adrian Belew & Alan White
7. Goodbye Blue Sky – Steve Howe & Billy Sherwood
8. Empty Spaces – Billy Sherwood & Robby Krieger
9. Young Lust – Glenn Hughes
10. One Of My Turns – Tommy Shaw
11. Don’t Leave Me Now – Robby Krieger & Tommy Shaw
12. Another Brick In The Wall Part 3 – Steve Lukather & Tony Levin
13. Goodbye Cruel World – Billy Sherwood & Tony Levin

CD 2:

1. Hey You – John Wetton, Steve Lukather, Tommy Shaw & Alan White
2. Is There Anybody Out There? – Adrian Belew & Billy Sherwood
3. Nobody Home – Rick Wakeman
4. Vera – Tommy Shaw & Steve Howe
5. Bring The Boys Back Home – Billy Sherwood & Jay Schellen
6. Comfortably Numb – Billy Sherwood, Chris Squire & Alan White
7. The Show Must Go On – Adrian Belew & Vinnie Coliauta
8. In The Flesh – Billy Sherwood, Steve Porcaro & Vinnie Colaiuta
9. Run Like Hell – Jason Chefe, Dweezil Zappa & Tony Kaye
10. Waiting For The Worms – Billy Sherwood, Tony Levin & Vinnie Colaiuta
11. Stop – Billy Sherwood
12. The Trial – Malcolm McDowell
13. Outside The Wall – Billy Sherwood
14. Isn’t This Where We Came In – Malcolm McDowell


What might seem an ideology trip for MANIC STREET PREACHERS was a natural journey for Rick Wakeman who, in April 2005, followed the Ministry of Culture invitation and visited Cuba. The maestro didn’t become a part of Buena Vista Social Club, of course, he set his sights on supporting the charity that sponsors a Havana hospital for children with cancer – and played some blistering shows with his ENGLISH ROCK ENSEMBLE that comprised Rick’s long-time singer Ashley Holt and Lee Pomeroy on bass, plus two new members, guitarist Dave Colquhoun and drummer Ashley Soan. The biggest show was performed at the Karl Marx Theater in Havana before 5,000 rabid fans, and it was captured on camera to be released on September 5th on a Classic Pictures DVD titled “Made In Cuba” which, as a bonus material, include “The Road to Cuba” documentary and a photo gallery.

1. Journey To The Centre Of The Earth
2. The Recollection / The Spaceman
3. Catherine Parr
4. The Visit / The Return Of The Phantom
5. Jane Seymour
6. Shed Building
7. King Arthur
8. Cathedral Of The Sky
9. Merlin The Magician
10. Starship Trooper / Wurm


Over the years, Robert Fripp’s music has been interpreted many times but never as radically as by CRIMSON JAZZ TRIO led by the KING CRIMSON former drummer, a musician with an impressive CV, Ian Wallace, and featuring Jody Nardone on acoustic grand piano and Tim Landers on fretless bass. They’re ready with the first album now, and in October “King Crimson Songbook. Volume One” will see the light of day. Encompassing all eras of classic CRIMSO, it contains:

1. 21st Century Schizoid Man
2. Three Of A Perfect Pair
3. Catfood
4. Starless
5. Ladies Of The Road
6. I Talk To The Wind
7. Red
8. Matte Kudasai


Unbreakable they are, indeed! Not content to be crossed off the rock giants’ list, NAZARETH still blow their bagpipe mighty. Having dusted off many early pieces not performed for a long long time, the Scottish fab four graced the Shepperton Film Studios for two days in July and played a wonderful set that is being released by Classic Pictures on the “Live from Classic T Stage” DVD on October 17th. A treat!

1. Hit the Fan
2. Open Up Woman
3. Miss Misery
4. Razamanaz
5. Kentucky Fried Blues
6. This Month’s Messiah
7. Sunshine
8. Bad Bad Boy
9. Love Leads To Madness
10. My White Bicycle
11. Heart’s Grown Cold
12. Shanghai’d In Shanghai
13. Cocaine
14. Turn On Your Receiver
15. Changin’ Times
16. Hair of the Dog
17. Love Hurts
18. Night Woman
19. This Flight Tonight
20. Broken Down Angel

August 23, 2005

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *