Bettye LaVette To Duet With Steve Winwood

Even in our age of occasional revitalizing of old glories soul divas rarely make impressive comebacks, yet that’s exactly what the great Bettye LaVette has been doing at least in the last five years, since the singer started working with producer Steve Jordan, a drummer of some renown who’s working with THE ROLLING STONES now. Their third common effort, simply titled “LaVette!” and slated for release on June 16th, may follow in the stylistic wake of “Things Have Changed” and “Blackbirds” – but there’s a twist.

This time, Bettye’s album consists strictly covers of Randall Bramblett and features stellar guests. Among these are Steve Winwood, whose co-write “No Time To Live” Ms. Lavette recorded for her “Interpretations” back in 2010, and John Mayer, whose trio includes Jordan, Anthony Hamilton and Charles Hodges, all supporting the songstress quite effectively, so “Lavette!” should be a real treat.


1. See Through Me (feat. Pedrito Martinez)
2. Don’t Get Me Started (feat. Steve Winwood)
3. Lazy (And I Know It)
4. Sooner Or Later
       (feat. Anthony Hamilton, Ray Parker Jr. & Rev. Charles Hodges)
5. Plan B
6. Concrete Mind
7. In the Meantime (feat. John Mayer)
8. Mess About It (feat. Ray Parker Jr. & Jon Batiste)
9. Hard To Be A Human
10. I’m Not Gonna Waste My Love
11. It’s Alright

March 21, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *