CANNED HEAT Dig Into The Live Archive

canheatOne of the most prominent Woodstock acts, CANNED HEAT are still here and still groove mighty, although one may argue their heyday is buried in the past. Even so, there’s no much evidence of their ’70s glory ride, except for two concert albums – but soon three more recordings will enhance the group’s canon. These are: “Carnegie Hall 1971” to be out on April 14th, “Stockholm 1973” penciled in for May 12th, and “Illinois Blues 1973” scheduled for July 7th release. With no tracklisting for the latter, of special interest is the first one, as it captures the HEAT on the road with John Lee Hooker following the most memorable “Hooker ‘n Heat” 2LP of which nothing is played here.

CANNED HEAT with John Lee Hooker - Carnegie Hall 1971

with John Lee Hooker –
Carnegie Hall 1971

Some may find the HEAT’s music formulaic, but that’s the boogie for you, and no one can deny the emsemble their ability to rock on-stage. Here’s the proof, then.

CANNED HEAT with John Lee Hooker – Carnegie Hall 1971

1. Framed
2. Let’s Work Together
3. Hey Babe
4. Shake ‘n’ Boogie
5. Back Door Man
bonus track:
6. Tease Me Baby

CANNED HEAT – Stockholm 1973 

CANNED HEAT - Stockholm 1973

Stockholm 1973

1. Let’s Work Together
2. On The Road Again
3. Harley Davidson Blues
4. Election Blues
5. So Long Wrong
6. Shake ‘n’ Boogie
7. Goodbye For Now

April 12, 2015

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *