Carla Olson Takes Old Friends On A New Journey

For all her brilliance as a solo performer, working with other artists – including other singers – has always been one of Carla Olson‘s fortes, the talent brought to the fore on the American chanteuse’s debut under her own name, 1987’s “So Rebellious A Lover” which was styled as an album of duets with Gene Clark, and again on “Have Harmony, Will Travel” ten years ago. The latter platter proved to be successful enough to see a second volume in 2000 – and the third, that will see the release on October 20th, 2023.

As its predecessors, “Have Harmony, Will Travel 3” feels special, and not only because there are top-notch guitarists, such as Laurence Juber and Eric Johnson are involved, and not because there’s the last-ever recording from B.J. Thomas, who passed away in 2021, and two cuts co-penned with THE HOLLIES’ Allan Clarke, as well as three previously unreleased duets with the aforementioned former Byrd, appended to close the circle, but also because this album features rockier numbers, such as covers of THE ROLLING STONES and THE WHO perennials. The veteran vocalist does justice to the classics in her own unlimitable style – just listen to one of the new pieces below. Read the review.

Have Harmony, Will Travel 3

1. In Another Land – feat. Craig Ross and Jimmy Ashhurst
2. Face To Face – feat. Eric Johnson
3. Street Fighting Man – feat. Jake Andrews and Jonathan Lea
4. I Can See For Miles – feat. Gary Myrick
5. Lead Me – feat. Todd Wolfe
6. (Just Like) Romeo & Juliet – feat. Harvey Shield
7. Stronger – feat. Robert Rex Waller Jr. and Gary Myrick
8. It Makes Me Cry – feat. Allan Clarke and Laurence Juber
9. A Love That Never Blooms –
    feat. Shawn Barton Vach and Laurence Juber
10. Cool Water – feat. B.J. Thomas and Mickey Raphael
11. Gypsy Rider – with Gene Clark
12. Del Gato – with Gene Clark
13. Set You Free This Time – with Gene Clark

September 10, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *