Dave Gahan Joins Nick Cave In Honoring Jeffrey Lee Pierce

This past June Jeffrey Lee Pierce could have turned 65 – a solid, respectable age – but the erstwhile leader of THE GUN CLUB sadly and untimely passed away in 1996, and his legend and legacy have been grooving in stature ever since. That’s why 2010 saw the inaugural release of “Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project”: the various-artists tribute series which was to run for four albums – all star-studded, with the late musicians’ songs, both previously issued and unreleased, covered by the likes of Debbie Harry, Iggy Pop, Isobel Campbell, Mark Lanegan and Nick Cave – only to stop after three offerings four years later.

The Task Has Overwhelmed Us

The last one, titled “The Task Has Overwhelmed Us” and planned to be the third in line, remained in limbo for a long time – yet it will finally be out on September 29th. This time, alongside usual suspects, present are such luminaries as Dave Gahan (watch his reading of “Mother Of Earth” below) which makes the final installment in the series all the more interesting.

1. Mother Of Earth – Dave Gahan
2. La La Los Angeles – THE COATHANGERS
3. Yellow Eyes –
     Jeffrey Lee Pierce (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
4. Debbie By The Christmas Tree – THE AMBER LIGHTS
5. Go Tell The Mountain –
     Mark Lanegan (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
6. Going Down The Red River – Jim Jones and THE RIGHTEOUS
7. The Stranger In Our Town –
     Peter Hayes, Leah Shapiro & Humanist
8. Secret Fires – Suzie Stapleton (feat. Duke Garwood)
9. Tiger Girl – Hugo Race
10. On The Other Side – Nick Cave & Debbie Harry
11. Idiot Waltz – CYPRESS GROVE
12. Tiger Girl – THE AMBER LIGHTS
13. From Death To Texas – Alejandro Escovedo
14. Vodou – Mark Stewart
15. Time Drains Away –
     Lydia Lunch, Jozef van Wissem & Jim Jarmusch
16. Lucky Jim – Chris Eckman & Chantal Acda
17. I Was Ashamed – Pam Hogg (feat. Warren Ellis & Youth)
18. Bad America – Sendelica (feat. Wonder & Dynamax Roberts

August 2, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *