Derek Sherinian And Simon Phillips Report From Stage

It’s quite surprising that, being the go-to musicians for a myriad of various projects and running projects of their own, Simon Phillips and Derek Sherinian are able to find time to team up not only in the studio but also on stage. This doesn’t occur so often, yet one of such rare cases took place at “The Grape” in Ventura, California on August 29th, 2022 – and was, thankfully, recorded to be released on CD and vinyl almost a year later, on August 25th.

With the band, in which the drummer and keyboard player were accompanied by Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal on guitar and Ric Fierabracci on bass, bringing to concert the material derived mostly from Sherinian’s solo albums “The Phoenix” and “Vortex” augmented by a selection of his earlier cuts, one may say the set doesn’t really represent Phillips’ side of things; however, with Simon’s PROTOCOL doing their own shows, and with him co-penning quite a few pieces on this “Live” platter, it’s issue is rather welcome.


1. The Vortex
2. Empyrean Sky
3. Temple Of Helios
4. Inertia
5. Alpha Burst
6. Barnacus
7. Seven Seas
8. Ascension
9. The Phoenix
10. Introduction
11. Aurora Australis


June 26, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *