From BLUESBREAKERS to FLEETWOOD MAC: a rarity to be out

John Mayall’s BLUESBREAKERS were one of the British blues greatest institutions whose ranks numbered a lot of future legends – and some of them stayed quite briefly there. Drummer Mick Fleetwood‘s stint lasted about four months, as he left in July 1967 together with guitarist Peter Green, and soon after bassist John McVie followed them into PETER GREEN’S FLEETWOOD MAC. But before that, a fan had recorded this line-up in five London’s clubs, including “The Marquee,” and fairly recently the tapes found their way into John Mayall’s possession. Cue remastering and, on April 21st, a release, titled “Live In 1967.”

Featuring a lot of the songs that the band didn’t record, as well as “All Your Love” which BLUESBREAKERS cut with Eric Clapton the previous year, “The Stumble” which they laid down in this line-up on “A Hard Road,” and “Streamline” and “I Can’t Quit You Baby” which the band would do on “Crusade” with Mick Taylor later on, it’s an historical document as much as a master class in blues musicianship.


Live In 1967

1. All Your Love
2. Brand New Start
3. Double Trouble
4. Streamline
5. Have You Ever Loved A Woman
6. Looking Back
7. So Many Roads
8. Hi Heel Sneakers
9. I Can’t Quit You Baby
10. The Stumble
11. Some Day After Awhile
12. San Ho Zay
13. Stormy Monday

February 23, 2015

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *