July 9, 2001


An array of stars, including Bob Dylan, join forces to pay homage to the great Hank Williams on the tribute album, that will be out on September 25th accompanied by a photograph book “Hank Williams: Snapshots From The Lost Highway”. Williams, who died in 1953 of heart attack, aged 29, was the most successful artist in country music history with eleven country hits topping the charts.

The artists and tracks are:
Beck – “Your Cheatin’ Heart”
Hank Williams III – “I’m A Long Gone Daddy”
Emmylou Harris – “Alone and Forsaken”
Bob Dylan – “I Can’t Get You Off Of My Mind”
Lucinda Williams – “Cold, Cold Heart”
Sheryl Crow – “Long Gone Lonesome Blues”
Keb’ Mo’ – “I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry”
Keith Richards – “You Win Again”
Mark Knopfler and Emmylou Harris – “Lost On The River”
Tom Petty – “You’re Gonna Change (Or I’m Gonna Leave)”
Johnny Cash – “I Dreamed About Mama Last Night”
Ryan Adams – “Lovesick Blues”.


BLACK SABBATH, who, as reported earlier, were going to release a new album around Christmas, their first in classic line up since 1978, decided now to have the project suspended until the beginning of 2002. The reason is Ozzy‘s determination to finish his solo album.


It’s announced that one of the bassists fulfilling the late Alan Woody duties for GOV’T MULE album, “In The Deep End”, to be released in Semptember will be none other than legendary Jack Bruce. Jack is going to play and sing on the song “Fool’s Moon”.

Among other four-string masters are Roger Glover, Chris Squier, Les Claypool, Flea, Chris Wood, Tony Levin, John Entwistle, Billy Cox and John Paul Jones.


N-M-C Music set for upcomimg release three classic live recordings from established rock performers.

The first is Mick Ronson memorial show featuring many stars of high profile, including original SPIDERS FROM MARS members (no Bowie though). Package includes Mick Rock and Ian Dickson photos and in-depth sleeve notes by “Bowie Chronicles” author Kevin Cann.

Here’s the track listing:

Disc 1:
THE RATS – It Ain’t Easy
Dana Gillespie –
A Lot Of What You’ve Got
Glen Matlock & THE MAVERICKS –
Burning Sound
Gary Brooker –
A Whiter Shade Of Pale
Mystery Train
Mick Jones & BIG AUDIO –
Medicine Show
Steve Harley –
The Last Time I Saw You
Steve Harley –
Come Up And See Me (Make Me Smile)
Disc 2:
Roger Taylor – A Kind Of Magic
– Width Of A Circle (DEF LEPPARD with guests)
– Ziggy Stardust
– Angel No. 9
– Don’t Look Down
– Moonage Daydream
– White Light, White Heat
– Suffragette City
Ian Hunter – Once Bitten Twice Shy/
Resurrection Mary
Roger Daltrey – Baba O’Riley/
Summertime Blues
Ian Hunter – Michael Picasso
All Together – All The Young Dudes

And there’s a limited edition disc 3 featuring video bonus.

The second concert is by Dr Hook & THE MEDICINE SHOW recorded January 13th 1976 in Denver, Colorado, and featuring the original line-up.

The songs played that evening were:
The Yodel Song; Queen Of The Silver Dollar; Everybody’s Making It Big But Me; I Ain’t Got No Home; Acapulco Goldie; Only Sixteen; 50’s Medley: Earth Angel-For Your Love-Daddy’s Coming Home-Oh Donna-What’s Your Name; Rollin’ In My Sweet Baby’s Arms; Carry Me, Carrie; Rolling Stone; Happy Trails.

And now, hot on the heels of the Rhino’s “Hotcakes And Outtakes” comes the 2-CD set capturing the second line-up of LITTLE FEAT, recorded at Ebbetsfield, Colorado on July 19th 1973, and featuring sleevenotes by the legendary radio presenter Bob Harris.

The set looks like this:
Disc 1:
Apolitical Blues; Two Trains; Got No Shadow Part 1; The Fan; Texas Rose Cafe; Snakes On Everything; Cat Fever; Fat Man In Bathtub; Walkin’ All Night; Sailin’ Shoes
Disc 2:
Dixie Chicken; Hamburger Midnight; Got No Shadow Part 2; On Your Way Down; Willin’; Cold, Cold, Cold


Yngwie Malmsteen‘s management received a call from members of the Chinese government with invitation for the guitarist to play in China.

When Malmsteen performed in Hong Kong recently, the Chinese government members were in the audience and were impressed up to offering Yngwie a gig, which makes him one of the few Western artists playing out there. Now, the guitarist is getting ready to stage there his usual rock show as well as his Concerto – with the Chinese National Orchestra.


For the first time since 1976, when URIAH HEEP released their “High And Mighty” album, former band members Ken Hensley and John Wetton reunite.

A couple of days ago Ken informed that his upcoming “Running Blind” CD will be expanded to include four brand new tracks recorded with Hensley’s new band. Now, four turn into five and will see Wetton coming into the frame. Ex-colleagues met in England, where Ken is laying the finishing touches for the record, and it just happened that John was in the studio too.

All that will lead to another delay with the album release, but the situation feels forgiveable and worth the wait. Meanwhile, there will be MPeg samplers regularly posted on the Hensley’s official site.


Oliver Wakeman now has his “3 Ages Of Magick” album for release. Those, who played on the record, are: Oliver Wakeman – keyboards; Steve Howe – guitars; Dave Wagstaffe – drums; Tim Buchanan – bass; Tony Dixon – pipes and Jo Greenland -violin. And here are the tracks

1. Ages Of Magick
2. Mind Over Matter
3. The Forgotten King
4. The Storyteller
5. The Whales Last Dance
6. Time Between Times
7. Flight Of The Condor
8. Lutey And The Mermaid
9. Standing Stones
10. The Enchanter
11. The Healer
12. Through The Eyes Of A Child
13. Hy Breasail

July 9, 2001

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *