The quintessence of today remote-recording method of creating not only single pieces but entire albums, PROG COLLECTIVE seem to be one of the most unnatural rock formations around, as none of the records from this ensemble, masterminded by Billy Sherwood, actually saw performers get together – neither in the studio nor on-stage. Still, there’s always been an interest in hearing easily recognizable musicians play on choice covers – and sometimes originals, as in the case of the band’s latest offering, 2021’s "Worlds On Hold" – so it’s hardly surprising that the platter which will be issued on July 1st looks rather alluring.

Titled “Songs We Were Taught” and involving usual suspects, it’s themed around folk-rock perennials, and must be arresting at least in a few moments, such as David Sancious detailing the textures of Al Stewart’s “Year Of The Cat” or Dweezil Zappa adding accents to “It’s Too Late” from Carole King’s repertoire. Altogether, the album will look like this:

Songs We Were Taught

1. The Sound Of Silence – feat. Jon Davison and Geoff Downes
2. Year Of The Cat – feat. Billy Sherwood and David Sancious
3. House Of The Rising Sun –
    feat. David Clayton-Thomas and Steve Hillage
4. In The Land Of Grey And Pink – feat. Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal
5. Summer Breeze – feat. Roine Stolt and Steve Morse
6. Fire And Rain – feat. Sonja Kristina and Martin Barre
7. The Weight – feat. Rod Argent and Jeff “Skunk” Baxter
8. Wild World – feat. Rosalie Cunningham and Patrick Moraz
9. It’s Too Late – feat. Candice Night and Dweezil Zappa
10. The Times They Are A-Changin’ – feat. Martin Turner and Jerry Goodman

May 18, 2022

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *