September 1, 2006


Despite previously saying ‘no’ to the idea, QUEEN and Paul Rodgers intend to enter the studio in October, once the singer’s solo tour is over, to hopefully record an album. The trio presented any new songs. though, in their live set but, judging by their concert recordings such as "Return Of The Champions", any peformance by the veterans will be blistering.


Ozzy Osbourne is a well-known fan of Leslie West and MOUNTAIN: Oz, whose first encounter with them was when BLACK SABBATH toured USA for the first time, has done a nice version of the band’s evergreen “Mississippi Queen” on his last year’s “Under Cover” album which featured Les on guitar. Now, the time comes to return the favor.

MOUNTAIN are in studio working on their own covers record, which is a collection of Bob Dylan’s classics. Among the songs are “Blowin’ In The Wind”, “Subterranean Homesick Blues” and, er, “Gotta Serve Somebody”. Among the guests called on by Leslie West and Corky Laing are ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND’s Warren Haynes and the Prince of Darkness. No, he won’t be “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door” – the tune chosen for Oz is “Masters Of War”. Well, after “War Pigs” that’s logical.


If you’re in posession of THE BEATLES’ “Yesterday And Today” US album with the infamous “butcher” cover in great nick, you’re in for the good dollar. But you won’t need such a good money to get hold of metal tribute to the Fabs, “Butchering The Beatles” that’ll be released on October 24th and feature all the usual – for such a record – suspects which doesn’t make the project less interesting:

1. Hey Bulldog – Alice Cooper; Steve Vai, Duff McKagen, Mikkey Dee
2. Back In The USSR – Lemmy, John5, Eric Singer
3. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds – Geoff Tate, Michael Wilton, Craig Goldy, Rudy Sarzo, Simon Wright, Scott Warren
4. Tomorrow Never Knows – Billy Idol, Steve Stevens, Blasko, Brian Tichy
5. Magical Mystery Tour – Jeff Scott Soto, Yngwie Malmsteen, Bob Kulick, Jeff Pilson, Frankie Banali
6. Revolution – Billy Gibbons, Vivian Campbell, Mike Porcaro, Gregg Bisonnette, Joseph Fazzio
7. Day Tripper – Jack Blades, Tommy Shaw, Doug Aldrich, Marco Mendoza, Virgil Donati
8. I Feel Fine – John Bush, Stephen Carpenter, Mike Inez, John Tempesta
9. Taxman – Doug Pinnick, Steve Lukather, Tony Levin, Steve Ferrone
10. I Saw Her Standing There – John Corabi, Phil Campbell, C.C. Deville, Chris Chaney, Kenny Aronoff
11. Hey Jude – Tim Owens, George Lynch, Bob Kulick, Tim Bogert, Chris Slade
12. Drive My Car – Kip Winger, Bruce Kulick, Tony Franklin, Aynsley Dunbar


“Rehab” is a title for a new QUIET RIOT album that’s out on October 3rd. This time warbler Kevin DuBrow and sticksman Frankie Banali enrolled on their service the sessioner Neil Citron on guitar and Tony Franklin to handle the bass on all cuts except SPOOKY TOOTH classic “Evil Woman” where the bottom end – and vocals complimenting DuBrow’s – come from no other than Glenn Hughes.


On August 3rd, Tony Bennett, one of the greatest American crooners, has turned 80. No that the age gets in the way of his work. Anthony Benedetto still performs and records – and his latest record, “Duets – An American Classic” is to be released on September 26th. It’s a studio album but all the duets were done live, face to face, which shows what a draw Bennett is for luminaries like Macca and Elton who are among the guests.

1. Boulevard Of Broken Dreams – with Sting
2. Smile – with Barbra Streisand and Pinchas Zukerman
3. Put On A Happy Face – with James Taylor
4. The Shadow Of Your Smile – with Juanes
5. Rags To Riches – with Elton John
6. The Very Thought Of You – with Paul McCartney
7. Lullaby Of Broadway – with DIXIE CHICKS
8. Cold, Cold Heart – with Tim Mcgraw
9. The Best Is Yet To Come – with Diana Krall
10. For Once In My Life – with Stevie Wonder
11. Are You Havin’ Any Fun? – with Elvis Costello
12. Because Of You – with K.D. Lang and Chris Botti
13. Just In Time – with Michael Buble
14. Sing You Sinners – with John Legend
15. The Good Life – with Billy Joel
16. I Wanna Be Around – with Bono
17. How Do Keep The Music Playing – with George Michael
18. I Left My Heart In San Francisco – with Bill Charlap


Joe Lynn Turner is one of those artists who never disappear from the public eye. At the moment the singer has two main concerns on his mind.

The first is creating a supergroup called BIG NOIZE that feature, alongside Joe, former QUIET RIOT guitarist Carlos Cavazo, keyboard player Gary Corbett who worked with CINDERELLA and two veterans with long CVs: Vinny Appice on drums and Phil Soussan on bass. The five are going to film a DVD in Nashville – not for commercial release, as of now, but as a corporate concert industry showcase. With no new songs, there’ll only be popular cuts from each artist’s catalogue.

The second is a document from Turner’s spring tour with Turkish guitar player Cem Koksal. Or, to be exact, two documents a live CD and DVD from two different concerts. The DVD trailer is available online now, so the prospect looks beautiful.

September 1, 2006

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.