SUZI QUATRO packs her years in a box

Never a petite proposition, the mass perception of Suzi Quatro is one of the lightweight fighter no matter how raw the lady can be and how fiercely she swings her bass. Hard to believe, this year the artiste celebrates her 50 years as professional musician, and there’s no question as to whether we still need Suzi when she’s 64. Yet the ultimate answer is “The Girl From Detroit City,” a box set whose Mike Chapman-coined title reminds all of the Brit-associated Quatro’s origin and whose content mixes remastered hits with rarities as well as previously unreleased tracks.

The latter include Suzi’s take on an EAGLES’ classic ballad that features Jeff Beck, while Another guitarist, SWEET’s Andy Scott, adds riffs to one of the three new tracks, a version of an ABBA song. Each piece is given a background in the richly illustrated 54-page booklet making it the anthology the lady deserves. More so, out on October 27th, it might be a great Christmas present.


The Girl From Detroit City

Disc One

1. What A Way To Die
2. Light Of Love
3. Locked In Your Love
4. Rolling Stone
5. Can The Can
6. Ain’t Ya Something Honey
7. 48 Crash
8. All Shook Up
9. Glycerine Queen
10. Daytona Demon
11. Roman Fingers
12. Devil Gate Drive
13. In The Morning
14. Too Big
15. The Wild One (single version)
16. Your Mamma Won’t Like Me
17. I Bit Off More Than I Could Chew
18. You Can Make Me Want You
19. Michael
20. I May Be Too Young
21. Half As Much As Me
22. American Lady (alt. version)

Disc Two

1. Tear Me Apart
2. If You Can’t Give Me Love
3. Suicide
4. The Race Is On
5. Stumblin’ In (with Chris Norman)
6. I’ve Never Been In Love
7. Mind Demons
8. She’s In Love With You
9. Hollywood
10. Mama’s Boy
11. Love Hurts
12. Rock Hard
13. Lonely Is The Hardest
14. Ego In The Night
15. Lipstick
16. Glad All Over
17. Heart Of Stone
18. Main Attraction
19. Two Miles Out Of Georgia
20. Can I Be Your Girl
21. Good Girl (Looking For A Bad Time)
22. Wild Thing (with Reg Presley)

Disc Three

1. I Got The Sun In The Morning
2. Moonshine Lullaby
3. If You Can’t Give Me Love (piano version)
4. Baby You’re A Star
5. Kiss Me Goodbye
6. Back To The Drive
7. I’ll Walk Through The Fire With You
8. No Choice
9. I Don’t Do Gentle
10. Fifteen Minutes Of Fame
11. Whatever Love Is
12. Strict Machine
13. Breaking Dishes
14. A Girl Like Me
15. Singing With Angels
16. Does Your Mama Know (with Andy Scott)
17. The Cost Of Living
18. Girl From Detroit City

Disc Four

1. Curly Hair For Sale
2. Sugar Flash Rapper
3. Ain’t Got No Home
4. Sweet Nothin’s
5. Wild In The Night
6. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
7. What Goes Around (demo)
8. Love And War
9. Walking Through The Changes
10. Warm Leatherette
11. Intimate Strangers
12. And So To Bed
13. Sometimes Love Is Letting Go
14. Flying To My Destiny
15. Free The Butterfly
16. Ambition
17. If There Ever Was A Reason
18. Desperado (with Jeff Beck)
19. Dancing In The Wind
20. No Choice (demo)

October 25, 2014

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *