Taj Mahal Embraces Old-Time Swing

One of the last living representatives of the classic blues era, Taj Mahal can do many things but emanating suaveness has never been one of those – quite the contrary, the singer has always looked and sounded a tad scruffy, and this made him so unique. Which is why it’s so wonderfully surprising that the legendary artist’s new album, penciled in for release on April 28th, should take him and his listeners to a high-class establishment.

Titled “Savoy” and produced by such master as Taj’s old friend John Simon, whose credentials include “Music From Big Pink” to name but one, it signals the fulfilment of Mahal’s decades-long dream: to dig into the classic period when swing and big-band jazz shook the Harlem’s “Savoy Ballroom” – even though the August 2022 session featured the crème de la crème of San Francisco cats rather than Big Apple players. Hearing the veteran do standards like “Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You” (watch the video below) or “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” – not to mention the perennial “Summertime” – is surely a treat.


1. Stompin’ At The Savoy
2. I’m Just A Lucky So-And-So
3. Gee Baby Ain’t I Good To You
4. Summertime
5. Mood Indigo
6. Is You Is or Is You Ain’t My Baby
7. Do Nothin Till You Hear From Me
8. Sweet Georgia Brown
9. Baby, It’s Cold Outside
10. Lady Be Good
11. Baby Won’t You Please Come Home
12. Caldonia
13. Killer Joe
14. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)

January 15, 2023

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *