One could be forgiven for thinking THE FABULOUS THUNDERBIRDS have become a legacy ensemble, touring on the strength of their former glories and not possessing the strength to come up with a fresh record – after all, the veterans, last was out eight years ago, and a follow-up to the robust “Strong Like That” didn’t seem to be in the cards. Until now, that is, as June 27th will see the release of the album marking their 50th anniversary and finding the band host quite a few distinguished fans.

Titled “Struck Down” and comprised of nine original tunes, all co-penned by the group’s founder Kim Wilson and Steve Strongman and including a cut featuring Billy Gibbons, and a cover of “Nothin’ In Ramblin'” from Memphis Minnie’s repertoire, where Mick Fleetwood rubs shoulders with Bonnie Raitt, Keb’ Mo and Taj Mahal to bolster the collective’s wail, the platter should be one of their finest. Well worth the wait.

– Struck Down

1. Struck Down By The Blues (feat. Steve Strongman)
2. Don’t Make No Sense (feat. Terrance Simien)
3. Payback Time (feat. Billy Gibbons)
4. Nothing In Rambling
     (feat. Bonnie Raitt, Keb’ Mo, Taj Mahal & Mick Fleetwood)
5. Won’t Give Up
6. The Hard Way
7. Whatcha Do To Me (feat. Elvin Bishop)
8. I’ve Got Eyes
9. That’s Cold
10. Sideline

April 29, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *