Albert Lee Lays It On The Line Of New Platter

A little less than a month ago Albert Lee belatedly celebrated his 80th birthday with a London concert that saw a host of stellar guests join the great guitarist on stage. It was there and then that the veteran also launched his new album, titled “Lay It Down” and currently available only at the venues Lee’s playing, with a wider release scheduled for July. Unlike Albert’s previous record, “Gypsy Man” from 2019, it’s not all covers – there’s one original on offer – while on other ten tracks the master’s paying tribute to his music heroes.

Here’s why it might be surprising to see the platter, which closes on Albert’s own piece, open with a Mark Knopfler-penned number that sits alongside classics by the likes of Jimmy Webb and Glen Campbell whom Lee covered, live and in the studio, many times before. And yet, hearing him sing and laying down filigreed licks is always a treat.

Lay It Down

1. Setting Me Up
2. Now And Then It’s Gonna Rain
3. Lay It Down
4. Too Young To Die
5. Destiny’s Child
6. Wheels
7. Less Of Me
8. The Price Of Love
9. 18 Yellow Roses
10. Kentucky
11. Erin

June 18, 2024

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *