Billy Sherwood: A Concept Work With Major Guests

It would be unjust to ascribe the timing of Billy Sherwood‘s new album release to his return to the ranks of YES, because “Citizen” – and the reissue of “Divided By One” for that matter – had been devised before the American replaced Chris Squire on-stage. Scheduled for November 6th, “Citizen” tells a story of one man’s travel through time and being witness to many a historical moments. Customary for Sherwood’s projects, this one sees a host of prog’s prime movers add their parts to Billy’s canvas, and the title track of it might actually be the last ever recording the original YES bassist made, while the presence of that band’s past and current members amounts to six musicians not counting the main man.



Given the concept nature of the album, and Sherwood’s handling most of the instruments, there will be more integrity to it than to some of the tributes Billy’s done lately. The full tracklist for this runs as follows:

1. The Citizen (feat. Chris Squire and Tony Kaye)
2. Man And The Machine (feat. Steve Hackett)
3. Just Galileo And Me (feat. Colin Moulding)
4. No Man’s Land (feat. Steve Morse)
5. The Great Depression (feat. Rick Wakeman)
6. Empire (feat. Alan Parsons and Jerry Goodman)
7. Age Of The Atom (feat. Geoff Downes)
8. Trail Of Tears (feat. Patrick Moraz)
9. Escape Velocity (feat. Jordan Rudess)
10. A Theory All It’s Own
11. Written In The Centuries (feat. Jon Davison)

September 12, 2015

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *