Chuck Wright Takes To The Sky To Fly Solo

A stalwart of hard ‘n’ heavy scene for decades, Chuck Wright‘s credentials as a bassist par excellence have long been established. One of the founders of GIUFFRIA and HOUSE OF LORDS, he also was a member of QUIET RIOT and HEAVEN & EARTH – partially contributing to the former band’s classic “Metal Health” and to the latter’s collective’s monumental "Dig" – but it’s as a concert and session performer with the likes of Alice Cooper and Ten Nugent that the veteran found the lasting fame and fortune. What Wright doesn’t have on his résumé is a solo album – but that’s about to change with the issue of SHELTERING SKY’s eponymous album on May 20th, the inaugural release of Chuck’s own project which features a few of his old friends, including Lanny Cordola and Jeff Scott Soto.

One of the singles from this platter saw the light of day on April 29th: titled “Throwin’ Stones” (watch video below), it carries an anti-military message and appears hot on the heels of a special show that Wright hosted this week at Ultimate Jam Night at Hollywood’s legendary “Whisky A Go-Go” to raise funds, with the help of Cherie Currie, Dug Pinnick and other rock luminaries, for victims of the Ukrainian war.

As for the album, it’s going to look like this (read the review):


1. The Weight Of Silence – feat. Derek Sherinian
2. Army Of Me – feat. Pat Torpey
3. The Other Side
4. Throwin’ Stones – feat. Lanny Cordola
5. Giving Up The Ghost
6. Time Waits For No One
7. It Never Fails – feat. Jeff Scott Soto
8. Darkness Darkness
9. Cradle Of The Sun (Lorelei)
10. Farewell Horizon
11. The Weight Of Silence (Reprise) – feat. Derek Sherinian

April 29, 2022

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *