COLOSSEUM side with the times

It’s been more than a decade since British progressive blues giants COLOSSEUM delivered their last album, 2003’s “Tomorrow’s Blues,” and for years it seemed to be just that: their last one ever. The band lost their founder member, sax player Dick Heckstall-Smith a year later, ten years ago, and although Barbara Thompson was the best replacement imaginable, the prospect of a new record felt feeble. Yet Jon Hiseman has steered his ship to it, and November 24th will see “Time On Our Side” released, with Dave Greenslade, Mark Clarke, Chris Farlowe and Clem Clempson also on top form.

There are two tributes on this: one, “Dick’s Licks” is obviously dedicated to Heckstall-Smith, while the second, “Morning Story,” wasn’t meant to be a homage to Jack Bruce – his “Theme For An Imaginary Western” has been in COLOSSEUM’s repertoire since 1970 – but turned out to be one. Here’s the full track list for the album, and a video of a recent live rendition of Jack’s classic.

COLOSSEUM - Time On Our Side

Time On Our Side

1. Safe As Houses
2. Blues To Music
3. The Way You Waved Goodbye
4. Dick’s Licks
5. City Of Love
6. Nowhere To Be Found
7. You Just Don’t Get It
8. New Day
9. Anno Domini
10. Morning Story

November 18, 2014

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *