Glenn Hughes’ Reissues Series Gets New Expansions

GLENN HUGHES - The RemastersThe series of Glenn Hughes‘ remastered and expanded reissues continues to grow. Following on the heels of a couple titles that saw the light of day, again, in August (here’s the breakdown), are two more releases which are scheduled for a November issue. To be out a week apart, on the 17th and 24th of the month, are 2001’s “Building The Machine” and “Songs In The Key Of Rock” from 2003, two of the strongest installments in the veteran’s catalogue.

The first of these may contain Glenn’s new take on his DEEP PURPLE classic “Highball Shooter” yet that pales in comparison of another cover on offer, “I Just Want To Celebrate” from RARE EARTH’s repertoire. There’s also a bonus cut added to the original tracklist, with the second CD in the package a document of Hughes’ 1999 show where he briefly resurrects KLF’s “America: What Time Is Love” which had brought him the “Voice Of Rock” mantle.

In its turn, “Songs In The Key Of Rock” – an allusion to a Stevie Wonder classic – will come on three discs, with more bonuses, a 2003 unplugged performance, and the “Freak Flag Flying” live album that, titled after “Can’t Stop The Flood” from the previous record, didn’t see a wide release.

Here’s how it all will look:

“Building The Machine”

GLENN HUGHES - Building The Machine

Building The Machine

Disc One:
1. Can’t Stop The Flood
2. Inside
3. Out On Me
4. I Just Want To Celebrate
5. Don’t Let It Slip Away
6. Feels Like Home
7. Highball Shooter
8. When You Fall
9. I Will Follow You
10. Beyond The Numb
11. Big Sky
12. Cosmic Spell (Japanese bonus track)

Disc Two
Live in Koln, Germany, December 6th, 1999:

1. Stormbringer
2. Might Just Take Your Life
3. You Kill Me
4. Neverafter
5. No Stranger To Love
6. Getting Tighter (Including America: What Time Is Love?)
7. You Keep On Moving
8. Burn
9. You Fool No One

“Songs In The Key Of Rock”

GLENN HUGHES - Songs In The Key Of Rock

Songs In The Key Of Rock

Disc One:
1. In My Blood
2. Lost In The Zone
3. Gasoline
4. Higher Places (Song For Bonzo)
5. Get You Stoned
6. Written All Over Your Face
7. Standing On The Rock
8. Courageous
9. The Truth
10. Wherever You Go
11. Higher Places (Reprise)
12. Secret Life (European bonus track)
13. Change (Japanese bonus track)

Disc Two
Freak Flag Flying – Live In The UK, October 2003:

1. In My Blood
2. Higher Places (Song For Bonzo)
3. Seafull / Beyond The Numb
4. Written All Over Your Face
5. Can’t Stop The Flood
6. Seventh Star
7. Mistreated
8. Gettin’ Tighter
9. You Keep On Moving
10. Wherever You Go

Disc Three
Unplugged: Live In Rome, May 23rd, 2003:

1. Stormbringer
2. Mistreated
3. A Whiter Shade Of Pale
4. Coast To Coast
5. You Keep On Moving

September 24, 2017

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *