HANOI ROCKS’ Andy McCoy Serves Up Obscure Covers

Finnish guitarist Andy McCoy has been a rock ‘n’ roll role model for many a glam metallers for more than four decades – ever since his ensemble HANOI ROCKS stormed from Helsinki’s scene into international market – yet the veteran’s influence was always rooted not only in his fretboard-running skills and talent as a composer but also in the depth of his oeuvre. This depth, in its turn, came from the artists McCoy himself was influenced by – from rockabilly performers to punk players and from reggae heroes to blues movers, so there many be a little surprise in Andy’s delivering a covers album “Jukebox Junkie” on August 5th: what’s really surprising is the choices he made for inclusion on the platter.

The songs that will be released on vinyl and CD show the spectrum of the master’s listening and include obscure – at least for a lot of his listeners – selections, with cuts from Phil Lynott and Chris Spedding, U.K. SUBS and SQUEEZE, Ronnie Wood and Katie Noel. Nothing obvious, in other words, except, perhaps, for a David Bowie number, which means quite a few joys are guaranteed here in the 60th year of Andy McCoy’s journey. (Read the review.)

Jukebox Junkie

1. I’m Gonna Roll (ROCK’N’ROLL BAND)
2. 54-46 That’s My Number (Toots and THE MAYTALS)
3. Take Me I’m Yours (SQUEEZE)
4. Miss Tennessee (Katie Noel)
5. Hot Night In Texas (Moon Martin)
6. I Can Feel The Fire (Ronnie Wood)
7. Shot Full Of Love (Don Williams)
8. Solo In Soho (Phil Lynott)
9. Back To The Wall (DIVINYLS)
10. Motor Bikin’ (Chris Spedding)
11. I Couldn’t Get It Right (CLIMAX BLUES BAND)
12. China Girl (David Bowie)
13. Funnel Of Love (Wanda Jackson)
14. Count Down (U.K. SUBS)

July 12, 2022

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *