January 24, 2002


This June, Queen Elizabeth is celebrating her 50th year as monarch, and a part of the celebration will be a rocking event on the Buckingham Palace lawn. Sir George Martin as musical director is to be observing the evening to take part in which are Paul McCartney, Eric Clapton, Mick Jagger, Aretha Franklin and Stevie Wonder. The concert will be broadcast on the BBC. That’ll be the day of jewelry rattling apotheosis, won’t it?


On January 22, 2002, Peter Bardens died in Los Angeles, California, having lost his long battle with a cancer. A prominent artist of Swinging London, in the ’60s Bardens would lead his own PETER B’s LOONERS, play in SHOTGUN EXPRESS alongside Peter Green and Rod Stewart, used to be in THE BLUES MESSENGERS with Ray Davies and THEM with Van Morrison, but his claim to fame lied with CAMEL, the band Peter was a co-founder of. The legendary keyboardist remained active after leaving the band in 1978 and up to his illness served as a captain for MIRAGE. One of the true masters, he will be sadly missed.


Classic Rock Legends schedule for release a couple of amazing items any true rock fan’s directory shouldn’t be bereft of.

The first is “Two Sides Of Yes” from Rick Wakeman, who one more time re-recorded classic material of the band he was in. An amazing piece of instrumental beauty adorned with artwork by Roger Dean, a part of the collection, nevertheless, seems to originate from Wakeman’s earlier endeavour, “Greatest Hits”.

1. Your Move
2. Wondrous Stories
3. Long Distance
4. Don’t Kill The Whale
5. Close To The Edge
6. Roundabout
7. The Meeting
8. The Meeting (enhanced video track for PC)

Much more interesting is “The Magician’s Birthday Party” from URIAH HEEP, a document of December 2001 event when for one occasion the band were joined on-stage by former members Ken Hensley and John Lawton. There are three versions of the package containing a part of the show (the full setlist is here) – a DVD, a CD and a set of DVD, CD and booklet. The release date is February 28.

1. Return To Fantasy
2. Between Two Worlds
3. Tales
4. I’ll Keep On Tryin’
5. July Morning
6. Circle Of Hands
7. Paradise / The Spell
8. The Magician’s Birthday
9. Free ‘N’ Easy
10. Easy Livin’
11. Sympathy
12. Sunrise


February 25th is the release date of the reformed MAGNUM album, “Breath Of Life”. There are three original members in the current line-up: vocalist Bob Catley, guitarist Tony Clarkin and keyboardist Mark Stanway, while new guys are Al Barrow on bass and, the latest addition to the fold, Harry James on drums.

An interview with Bob Catley is to appear on the site someday soon – follow the In The Pipeline list, and here’s what the album has:

1. Cry
2. This Heart
3. Everyday
4. Still
5. Dream About You
6. Breath Of Life
7. After The Rain
8. That Holy Touch
9. Let Somebody In
10. The Face Of An Enemy
11. Just Like January
12. Night After Night

There will be a limited edition of the album as well, with three bonus tracks, “The Flood” (live), “Backstreet Kid” (live) and “We All Need To Be Loved” (radio acoustic).


MEGADETH are putting out their first ever live album on March 19th, containing 24 tracks cherry-picked by fans through the band’s website and newly recorded by Dave Mustaine, Al Pitrelli, David Ellefson and Jimmy DeGrasso. The artwork for the package (there will be DVD and video) titled “Rude Awakening” is by legendary Hipgnosis artist Storm Thorgerson, responsible for PINK FLOYD graphic masterpieces.

January 24, 2002

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *