It started out sensational and it ends sensational: while the issue of JOHN MAYALL’S BLUESBREAKERS "Live In 1967" in 2015 seemed a one-off release of rare recordings by one of the greatest line-ups of the British blues institution, turned out to be a short series that saw a second installment out a year later and will be brought to a close on September 8th, 2023, when “Live In 1967 – Volume Three” is to see the light of day.

Live In 1967 – Volume Three

This was the group whose three quarters – first guitarist Peter Green and drummer Mick Fleetwood, and a little later bassist John McVie – would soon jump John Mayall’s ship to blend their surnames and talents into PETER GREEN’S FLEETWOOD MAC. But before they did, a fan named Tom Huissen took it upon himself to follow the foursome across different London clubs and preserved the band’s performances on a mono reel-to-reel recorder for posterity – something which became a universal appeal a decade ago when Mayall purchased the tapes and started restoring the historical documents to acceptable quality, making the last eight cuts especially alluring not only for blues purists, because this was a fantastic group who lived for the music.

1. Brand New Start (Manor House)
2. Tears In My Eyes (Manor House)
3. Stand Back Baby (Bromley)
4. Greeny (Ram Jam)
5. Talk To Your Daughter (Klooks Kleek)
6. Your Funeral And My Trial (Manor House)
7. The Stumble (Manor House)
8. Double Trouble (Bromley)

July 8, 2023

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *