June 18, 2001


Ever-popular JETHRO TULL have some new projects in the pipeline. First is the new DVD slated for release in the fall of 2002, while the second, which Ian Anderson has been working on for some time, should be an ultimate live collection that will lead to some old live albums withdrawal from the shelves.

As for new studio work – it will start this year and likely will see the light of day also in 2002.


As it was reported before
Ozzy Osbourne
 is a main character in a video game “Black Skies” for PlayStation 2 and PC that will be out this Autumn. Ozz, never a dull man, had decided to have a bigger hand in production and recorded new versions of his popular songs “Crazy Train”, “No More Tears” and “See You On The Other Side” as well as BLACK SABBATH classics “War Pigs” and “Paranoid”.


BLACKMORE’S NIGHT just released the first single from the forthcoming “Fires At Midnight” album; the single, Dylan’s “Times They Are A-Changing'”, comes enhanced with video track.

The album will be out in Europe on July 2nd, and from July 24th to August 6th the band will be touring Germany. On some shows preferential seating will be given to fans dressed in Renaissance costumes.


Mark Boals-fronted band RING OF FIRE have their first album for release in Japan on July 25th with a tour scheduled for Autumn. The album is titled “The Oracle” and contains following tracks:

1. Prelude For The Oracle
2. Circle Of Time
3. Shadow In The Dark
4. Vengeance For Blood
5. Samurai
6. City Of The Dead
7. Dreams Of Empire
8. The Oracle
9. Interlude
10. Land Of Illusion
11. Take Me Home
12. Face The Fire
13. Secret bonus for Japan

Mark Boals’ colleagues are Vitalij Kuprij on keyboards, George Bellas on guitars, bassist Philip Bynoe and drummer Virgil Donati.


DEEP PURPLE bass player Roger Glover agreed to take over the producer’s duties for the remastering of 1974’s “Burn” album, despite him not being a band member at the time. Although, in Glover’s words, the mixing quality is poor, especially in the title track, he hopes to make it better. The work will take place in Manhatten’s Acme Studios with Peter Denenberg engineering.


THE GRATEFUL DEAD will release on October 16th “The Golden Road 1965-1973”, a twelve-CD compilation featuring the band’s 1967 to 1973 albums on Warner Bros., digitally re-mastered, as well as live and unreleased material. The only album remained intact was “Live Dead”, which is a perfect record with no room for bonus material. The work was supervised by DEAD drummer Mickey Hart and guitarist Bob Weir.

Also the box will include a two-disc – one studio, one live -set “The Birth of the Dead”, assembled by the band’s publicist Dennis McNally, containing tracks recorded before the DEAD signed with Warners.


URIAH HEEP continue their frenetic activity, which raised the band’s profile immensely this year, with a new trick. HEEP, in association with Classic Rock Legends, are launching a new streaming media subscription service, Web TV, to be running on the band’s official site.

There will be a new video each month, so subcribers will be able to watch short samples, test the best connection speed, and then be able to download video; purchase it online directly from the site’s store and have it delivered at home; or watch the full length video online. In addition to the monthly subscriptions offerings, fans will be eligible for various special promotions.

The service is to start on August 1st, 2001 with “Live In Moscow” video from 1987. All proceeds from this service will directly benefit HEEP and help to ensure that there will be much more coming.

June 18, 2001

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *