March 27, 2011


LOVEPOWER is a new project of these pages’ old friend  Robin George . Their first album in the works for some time now, its first single, “LovePower And Peace” will be out on April 4th – a nice looking 11.4.11 – with all the proceeds from the sales going to Macmillan Cancer Support. The issue is very sensitive to DME, so if you can buy the song, available here, you’ll do the right thing. More so, you’ll get to hear Robin’s guitar backing the great Ruby Turner and Jaki Graham. As for the album, it’s going to be huge as the record features many a great artist including John Wetton, David Byron and Arthur Brown.

March 24th, 2011


More and more rockers unite their ranks, or work separately, on helping out the people of Japan, the victims of the recent earthquake and tsunami. Too many artists to mention here, let’s touch on two less reported occasions.

Mark Boals, a hard rock belter mostly known for his work with Yngwie Malmsteen, is to write the official song for Japan’s Charity arranged by Avalon Marquee Records. Then, on April 3rd, Paul Weller, will be a headliner for a charity show at London’s “O2”, where Liam Gallagher’s BEADY EYE, PRIMAL SCREAM and BLUR’s Graham Coxon also appear.


The fretless bass maestro Doug Lunn gathered a nice circle of friends around him, for the DOUG LUNN PROJECT’s forthcoming album to feature such luminaries as guitarist Mike Keneally and drummer Vinnie Colaiuta, as well as George Bernardo swinging the mallets, with Dimitris Mahlis and Peter Maunu adding more six-string wonders.

Another great project comes from MOUNTAIN’s Leslie West who’s finishing his solo record before the band go on tour. Among the cuts thereon is Willie Dixon’s “Third Degree” that the guitarist laid down ages ago with WEST, BRUCE AND LAING but now re-recorded with no other than  Joe Bonamassa who happened to be in LA when Leslie went there for another studio stint. Among the other six-stingers featured are Slash and Zakk Wylde on two tracks each, plus Steve Lukather. The drums are played by Kenny Aronoff. One CD to look forward to.

Having recently released a DVD, recorded at the Barney Bubbles Memorial Benefit Concert, HAWKLORDS, a HAWKWIND offshoot led now by Harvey Bainbridge and Steve Swindells and fronted by Nik Turner and Ron Tree, are going to get back on-stage in autumn, after the long long long hiatus.

DIO DISCIPLES will be the name of the band scheduled to tour Europe in the summer. As reported earlier, it’s the DIO line-up with the great late Ronnie James Dio‘s place taken by Tim Owens, famous for singing with JUDAS PRIEST and Toby Jepson of LITTLE ANGELS fame.


In these funky times, good music and good entertainment are rarely share one space. But when it comes to a spaced-out fonk navigated by Bootsy Collins, they do. Judge for yourselves on April 25th, when the legendary bassman’s new album, “Tha Funk Capital Of The World”, should make it to the shops. The limited run of the CD housed in the eye-popping 3D-artwork, there are lots of magic underneath, with a lot of guests adding their sounds to the brew – among them three legendary buddies of Boots: Bobby Womack, George Clinton and the late Jimi Hendrix. Ah the sweet smell of the real fat groove!

1. Spreading Hope Like Dope (ft. Dr. Cornel West)
2. Hip Hop @ Funk U (ft. Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, & Chuck D)
3. Mirrors Tell Lies (ft. Jimi Hendrix)
4. JB-Still the Man (ft. Rev. Al Sharpton)
5. Freedumb (ft. Dr. Cornel West)
6. After These Messages (ft. Samuel L. Jackson)
7. Kool Whip (ft. Phil Ade & CandiSweetz)
8. The Real Deal (ft. Sheila E. & CandiSweetz)
9. Don’t Take My Funk (ft. Catfish Collins & Bobby Womack)
10. If Looks Could Kill (ft. Bela Fleck, Zionplanet-10, & Dennis Chambers)
11. Minds Under Construction (ft. Buckethead & (Z-Class))
12. Siento Bombo (ft. Olvido Ruiz & Ouiwey)
13. Garry Shider Tribute (ft. George Clinton & Linda Shider)
14. Stars Have No Names (They Just Shine) (ft. Nick Arnold & Chrissy Dunn)
15. Chocolate Caramel Angel (ft. Faith Daniels, Ronnie Racket, & Casper)
16. Yummy, I Got The Munchies (ft. Musiq Soulchild, Razzberry Hershey & Tom Joyner)


“This Is WISHBONE ASH is a telling title for a new rockumentary from the titular British band, their Andy Powell -led version, that is. With a good smattering of live DVDs released by the group in the last decade, this one provides a peek into the quarter’s creative process allowing to see how the ensemble records a new album, tentatively called “Searching For Satellites”, to be out later in the year, and graces the stage, although the concert footage is limited here and no archive material present.

Much more attention, therefore, will be paid to a new DVD from another hard rock legends, DEEP PURPLE“Phoenix Rising”, as reported by DPAS, is to include a“Gettin’ Tighter” documentary telling a story of making the “Come Taste The Band” album and the Mk 4 tour, the long-overdue official release of the “Rises Over Japan” 30-minute concert video шт surround sound and more precious stuff. It’ll be available in May as a plain DVD, a limited edition DVD & CD pack with a small book and a blu-ray edition with both visual and audio elements.


Unfashionable, MANFRED MANN‘S EARTH BAND somehow remains in the focus. Not so long ago Kanye West’s “So Appalled” featured a sample from “You Are – I Am” from MMEB’s 1979’s “Angel Station”, while the ensemble engaged GO WEST’s Peter Cox as their temporary singer. Now, they found a permanent replacement for Noel McCalla: one Robert Hart, a former BAD COMPANY frontman, and it’s with him that the group will cut “Rational Anthems”, a new album set for a September release. It’ll be led by single “Boots” and its promotional video featuring a breakdancing Queen. 2011 will also see a box set of seven MANFRED MANN, the ’60s band, EPs and the “Five Faces Of Mann” album on CD and vinyl. There’s also talks of properly reissuing the entire classic catalogue.

March 27, 2011

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *