May 15, 2003


MR. BIG are no more but, to bid farewell, they resurrected their spirit one more time, the result being “Mr. Big – Influences and Connections”, an album and a DVD which see the band members and their celebrity guests do songs that gave the world the group and those Billy Sheehan and Co gave to the world.

The standard is set as high as to bring in Paul Rodgers who co-wrote and sang the original version of “Mr. Big”, a piece which lent the American rockers their name, to record it again with Billy stepping in for Andy Fraser – and it’s the only track with Sheehan on; the other vocalists include Glenn Hughes handling “Price You Gotta Pay” and “Alive & Kicking”, John Waite on “Wild World”, Joe Lynn Turner on “Daddy, Brother, Lover, Little Boy” and Ann Wilson of HEART on “Promise Her The Moon”, while the guitars duties go to Steve Lukather and Marty Friedman, yet there’ll be more big names involved.

With Pat Regan producing, the CD and DVD are released at the end of June.


Classic rock seem to be dying, with so many a great performer passing away one by one. The latest is Noel Redding whose solid and bold bass playing provided a real axis for Mitch Michell’s bottom groove and Jimi Hendrix’s guitar pyrotechnics. He served for the JIMI HENDRIX EXPERIENCE from the very off, when in 1966 THE ANIMALS’ former bassist Chas Chandler brought the axeman over to Britain and arranged for him a band that would cut such groundbreaking albums as “Are You Experienced?” and “Electric Ladyland”. With Hendrix surrounding himself with black musicians, Redding founded a heavy psychedelic combo FAT MATTRESS, popular among the collectors, and later did session work. Noel died on Sunday, May 11th at his home Southern Ireland home, aged 57.


You don’t need to be a Maidenhead to keep in esteem the beast of a project IRON MAIDEN are to unleash on June 2nd, a double-DVD set“Visions Of The Beast” comprising every promotional videos the British ensemble ever made from 1980’s “Women In Uniform” through to 2001’s performance of “Brave New World'”. To up the value and the volume, thereon are previously unseen Camp Chaos animated versions of six tracks, discography and hidden extras. A treasure trove where Eddie lives on.

Disc 1:

1. Women In Uniform
2. Wrathchild (Live At The Rainbow)
3. Run To The Hills
4. Number Of The Beast
5. Flight Of The Icarus
6. The Trooper (Correct Version)
7. 2 Minutes To Midnight
8. Aces High
9. Wasted Years
10. Stranger Than A Strange Land
11. Can I Play With Madness
12. The Evil That Men Do
13. The Clairvoyant (Donington ’88)
14. Infinite Dreams (Birmingham NEC)
15. Holy Smoke
16. Tailgunner

Disc 2:

1. Bring Your Daughter
To The Slaughter
2. Be Quick Or Be Dead
3. From Here In Eternitiy
4. Wasting Love
5. Fear Of The Dark (Donington ’92)
6. Hallowed By Thy Name
7. Man On The Edge
8. Afraid To Shoot Strangers
9. Lord Of The Flies
10. Virus
11. The Angel And The Gambler
12. Futureal
13. The Wicker Man
14. Out Of The Silent Planet
15. Brave New World 2001
(Rock in Rio)


Some may think that new EMI series, “Early Years”, will be another long line of budget compilations, yet the DEEP PURPLE entry will prove them wrong as, in order to make the collection special, forgotten master tapes had been revisited and worked on for inclusion on a CD alongside regular material. So there might be a chance to explore new ground with…

– And The Address (remix)
– Blind (remix)
– I’m So Glad (remix)
– Kentucky Woman (alternate take)
– Lalena (instrumental
– Hey Joe (remix)
– Hush (remix)
– Bird Has Flown (backing track)

Meanwhile, here‘s a cover artwork for the upcoming BLACKMORE’S NIGHT album, “Ghost Of A Rose”, out on June 30th.


May 26th will see another re-issue of another classic, David Bowie’s “Alladin Sane”, this time – following in the wake of “Ziggy Stardust”, which received similar treatment – as a 2-CD deluxe edition with extensive sleeve notes, unseen photos by Mick Rock, a chronology and other time-pieces expanding the perspective of 1973’s artefact further, as if the bonus disc of single versions and live cuts isn’t enough. Fans must be jumping insanely… Will there be “Pin-Ups” next?

CD 1 – the original album:

1. Watch That Man
2. Aladdin Sane
3. Drive-In Saturday
4. Panic In Detroit
5. Cracked Actor
6. Time
7. The Perttiest Star
8. Let’s Spend The Night Together
9. The Jean Genie
10. Lady Grinning Soul

Disc 2 – bonus material:

1. John I’m Only Dancing (sax version)
2. The Jean Genie (original UK single mix)
3. Time (single edit)
4. All The Young Dudes
5. Changes (Boston, 1.10.72)
6. The Supermen (Boston, 1.10.72)
7. Life On Mars (Boston, 1.10.72)
8. John, I’m Only Dancing (Boston, 1.10.72)
9. The Jean Genie (Live)
10. Drive-In Saturday (Cleveland, 25.11.72)


May 15, 2003

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *