May 16, 2001


July 9th is the release date of the newest album from Jack Bruce. The album, titled “Shadows In The Air” was recorded in London in November-December 2000 and includes guest appearances from former Bruce colleagues Eric Clapton and Gary Moore, as well as Dr. John, Changuito Luis Quintana and Vernon Reid.

Some songs are new versions of maestro classics, and the whole tracklist looks like this:

1. Out Into the Fields
2. 52nd Street
3. Heart Quake
4. Boston Ball Game 1967
5. This Anger’s A Liar
6. Sunshine of Your Love
7. Directions Home
8. Milonga
9. Dancing On Air
10. Windowless Rooms
11. Dark Heart
12. Mr Flesh
13. He The Richmond
14. White Room
15. Surge


It seems AEROSMITH didn’t have to push play – there’s a fourth tribute albums in three years coming out in the wake of “Not The Same Old Song And Dance”, “Janie’s Got A Gun” and “Aerosmithsonian” to present a star line-up. The new one called “Sweet Emotion” is out June 19th on Heavy Hip Mama Records. Here’s the songtrack and performers:

“Cryin'” – Otis Clay
“Pink” – Gerald McClendon
“Walk This Way” – Pinetop Perkins & Rusty Zinn with Ronnie Baker Brooks
“Last Child” – Cathy Richardson & Wayne Baker Brooks
“Big Ten Inch Record” – Marshall Crenshaw & SUGAR BLUE
“One Way Street”- Lou Ann Barton
“Back in the Saddle” – Lou Gramm & SUGAR BLUE
“Dream On” – Kim McFarland
“Draw the Line” – Tad Robinson
“Rag Doll” – Joe Louis Walker
“Sweet Emotion” – Donald Kinsey
“Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” – Crystal Taliefero & Joanna Connor
“Train Kept A Rollin'” – David “Honeyboy” Edwards

The most attractive here looks only Lou Gramm, the voice of FOREIGNER, so the champion of ‘SMITH homage remains “Not The Same Old Song And Dance”

Not the same with a new QUEEN tribute CD, “Stone Cold Queen”, which homes many high class names that deserve to be mentioned all – it’s worthy. Here are they, the songs and the players:

“Stone Cold Crazy” – Robin Zander, Steve Stevens, Billy Sheehan, Matt Sorum)
“Play The Game” – Marty Friedman, Chuck Wright, Gregg Bissonette, Paul Taylor
“Fat Bottomed Girls” – Joe Lynn Turner, Reb Beach, Tony Franklin, Eric Singer)
“Somebody To Love” – Geoff Tate, Doug Aldrich, Carmine Rojas, Aynsley Dunbar, Paul Taylor
“Crazy Little Thing Called Love” – Gunnar and Mathew Nelson, Albert Lee, Michael Porcaro, Pat Torpey
“Fight From The Inside” – Jack Blades, Jake E. Lee, Tony Levin, Tony Thompson
“You’re My Best Friend” – Jason Scheff, Richie Kotzen, Marco Mendoza, Vinny Appice, Paul Taylor
“I’m In Love With My Car” – Kip Winger, Steve Lukather, Phil Soussan, Frankie Banali
“Killer Queen” – Glenn Hughes, Pat Thrall, Stu Hamm, Carmine Appice, Paul Taylor
“Spread Your Wings” – Tommy Shaw, Dweezil Zappa, Tim Bogert, Steve Ferrone, Derek Sherinian
“We Will Rock You” – Jack Russell, Bruce and Bob Kulick, Jeff Pilson, Mikkey Dee.

This one should be a great companion to the “Dragon Attack of some years ago.

May 16, 2001

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *