Neil Young Revitalized Ragged Glory

It’s one of the most deplorable fads, artists recording their classic albums anew to possibly find fresh facets to familiar fodder, unless the latter-day document has on-stage origins. And that’s exactly how “Fu##in’ Up” by Neil Young and CRAZY HORSE appeared to be, when the veterans secretly performed 1990’s “Ragged Glory” almost entirely in November 2023, docking only the platter’s final track. The 36th best grunge album of all time as announced by “Rolling Stone” in 2019 is to come alive on various formats April 26th (and only on vinyl a week earlier, for Record Store Day).

Fu##in’ Up

As is often the case with Neil, there’s an underlying meaning to this release, the missing parts of his and his band’s names on the album’s cover reading as “Young and Crazy” to emphasize the vitality of the Toronto’s “Rivoli” concert set which marked the 55th anniversary of the Canadian singer-songwriter and the American ensemble’s first joint efforts. Given the fact that it’s been more than seven years since Shakey’s last live album, the forthcoming album feels rather welcome.

1. City Life (Country Home)
2. Feels Like A Railroad (River Of Pride) [White Line]
3. Heart Of Steel (Fuckin’ Up)
4. Broken Circle (Over And Over)
5. Valley Of Hearts (Love To Burn)
6. Farmer John
7. Walkin’ In My Place (Road Of Tears) [Mansion On the Hill]
8. To Follow One’s Own Dream (Days That Used To Be)
9. A Chance On Love (Love And Only Love)

February 17, 2024

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *