November 7, 2001


This year, on June 21st, one of the blues giants passed away, and now Blue Storm Music work on tribute to John Lee Hooker. Supervised by former CREAM lyricist Pete Brown, who was in charge of wonderful “Knights Of The Blues Table” and “Rattlesnake Guitar” projects, the album will feature Jack Bruce, Gary Moore, George Thorogood, LITTLE FEAT, CANNED HEAT, Mick Taylor, Peter Green, LLC, Kim Simmonds with SAVOY BROWN and John Lee’s daughter, Zakiya Hooker with her band BLUZ 4 U. The sessions begun in October, so there’s no release date as of yet. A portion of the proceeds from these recordings will be donated on behalf of Blue Storm Music to The John Lee Hooker Foundation.


Peter Green’s SPLINTER GROUP pay another homage to blues roots with release of an exclusive CD entitled “Blues Don’t Change”, where the band cover their favourites. The list looks like this:

1. Don’t Start Me Talking (Sonny Boy Williamson)
2. Take Out Some Insurance (Jimmy Reed)
3. When It All Comes Down (B.B. King)
4. Honey Bee (Muddy Waters)
5. Little Red Rooster (Howlin’ Wolf)
6. I Believe My Time Ain’t Long (Elmore James)
7. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out (Bessie Smith)
8. Help Me Through The Day (Freddie King)
9. The Blues Don’t Change (Albert King)
10. Crawlin’ King Snake (John Lee Hooker)
11. Honest I Do(Jimmy Reed)

The album was recorded in a couple of weeks during September with many tracks done on first or second takes like the originals recorded mostly in Chicago in the 50’s. Green sings on nine tracks bar “Little Red Rooster” and “Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out” where Nigel Watson takes the lead.

The CD is on sale at the current [link id=’2096′ text='”Time Traders”‘ anchor=’greeny’ tour concerts and soon will be available through the band’s website.


Finally, a time comes for DEEP PURPLE‘s historical “Concerto For Group And Orchestra”, originally recorded in 1969, to appear in full digital glory. The tapes are being remixed, and there will be a double CD with Malcolm Arnold’s Symphony No. 6, PURPLE’s three songs and the full “Concerto” with all the edits included as they were performed. Among them, the original encore, a shorter version of the third movement, is to be added.


A new sensational collaboration is Pete Townshend contributing guitar to David Bowie‘s upcoming album that still has no title. Townshend heard some demos Bowie has been working on in New York and found them delightful enough to be adorned with his parts. The two were to perform together at “The Concert for New York” organised by Paul McCartney but that didn’t work out.

November 7, 2001

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *