October 16, 2009


All this seems to be down to Eddie Jobson‘s recent activity including a new band and the release of the U.K. remasters: now the maestro reunites with his old sparring partner John Wetton  for three dates in Poland in the company of Tony Levin, Greg Howe and Marco Minnemann. In Jobson’s words, it was Wetton whose lazy approach nixed the work on another U.K. album in the last decade, but John has got his act together since then to dabble with both ASIA and ICON, so there’s hoping not only for a live DVD from the two’s Polish stint but also for something new.


As it was reported last month,  MANFRED MANN‘S EARTH BAND have begun the run of their official “Bootleg Archives” series with the box of the first five volumes out now. The earliest tapes coming from 1981, it might not be what the classic era fans want but that’s only a start. More interest is focused on the forthcoming “Then & Now” DVD featuring footage from 1972 and 2005, this collection is welcome nevertheless.

CD1 – Europe, 1981:

1. Hello Hello (Cologne, 13 February)
2. Angels At My Gate (Cologne, 13 February)
3. On The Run (Paris 5 February)
4. Chicago Institute (Cologne, 13 February)
5. Spirits In The Night (Cologne, 13 February)
6. Fritz The Blank (Cologne, 13 February)
7. Martha’s Madman (Cologne, 13 February)
8. Blinded By The Light (Paris, 5 February)
9. Stranded (Paris, 5 February)
10. Lies Thru’ The 80s (Paris, 5 February)
11. Hobo Bill’s Last Ride/Resurrection (Vienna, 12 March)
12. Step By Step (Vienna, 12 March)
13. Give Me The Good Earth (date unknown)

CD2 – Vienna,
Austria, 28.5.1986:

1. Banquet
2. Tribal Statistics
3. Visionary Mountains
4. Redemption Song
5. Going Underground
6. Do Anything You Wanna Do
7. Father Of Day
8. The Runner
9. Gimme Some Loving/Mony Mony
10. The Third Man Theme
11. Mighty Quinn
12. Davy’s On The Road Again

CD3 – Cologne,
Germany, 3.7.1991:

1. Banquet
2. Shelter From The Storm
3. Times They Are A Changin’
4. Castles Burning
5. Martha’s Madman
6. Medicine Song
7. Redemption Song
8. Blinded By The Light
9. Davy’s On The Road Again
10. Crazy ‘Bout An Automobile
11. Jam
12. Joybringer (London, 21 November)
13. Pleasure And Pain (London, 21 November)

CD4 – Hell,
Norway, 10.9.1999:

1. I’ll Give You (Shelter From The Storm)
2. Castles Burning
3. Martha’s Madman
4. Don’t Kill It Carol
5. Angels At My Gate
6. Times They Are A Changin
7. Demolition Man
8. (She Was) Blinded By The Light
9. Redemption Song
10. Mighty Quinn

CD5 – Markranstadt,
Germany, 23.6.2007

1. Spirits In The Night
2. Castles Burning
3. Martha’s Madman
4. Captain Bobby Stout
5. Dancing In The Dark /
House Of The Rising Sun
6. Redemption Song
7. Demolition Man
8. Don’t Kill It Carol
9. Davy’s On The Road Again


Something’s been wrong recently in the camp of Steve Hackett . From what information there can be gathered, it looks like the guitar master, having parted with his wife and then his manager, has lost the rights to his Camino firm and even relocated all web-operations from his old site to another place, at Hackett Songs. These problems might be the reason for the delay of “Out Of The Tunnel’s Mouth”, Steve’s new album that had originally to see the light of day on October 5th on a new label, Wolfwork. Among the guests on it are John Hackett, the veteran’s predecessor in GENESIS Anthony Phillips and the YES main man Chris Squire . When the legal tangle will be straightened remains unclear for now.

1. Fire On The Moon
2. Nomads
3. Emerald And Ash
4. Tubehead
5. Sleepers
6. Ghost In The Glass
7. Still Waters
8. Last Train To Istanbul


This year marks the four-decade anniversary of British twin-guitar kings WISHBONE ASH, and while another go at re-issuing the band’s classic albums is afoot to include also an anthology-type compilation and a box set with some rarities, the Andy Powell-led collective bring on the new DVD “Wishbone Ash® 40″ Live in London” October 10th. Recorded at Shepherd’s Bush Empire, it expands the HD-concert footage, feauturing some special guests, with a 51-minute travelogue, while the aural version of it is to be out on CD and a vinyl LP.

1. Blind Eye
2. Runaway
3. Right Or Wrong
4. Sometime World
5. Rainstorm
6. The Way Of The World
7. Everybody Needs A Friend (feat. Mark Birch)
8. The King Will Come
9. Throw Down The Sword
10. Cell Of Fame (feat. Mervyn “Spam” Spence)
11. Almighty Blues (feat. Ben Granfelt)
12. Faith, Hope & Love (feat. Ben Granfelt)
13. Engine Overheat
14. Phoenix
15. Jailbait
16. Blowin’ Free

October 16, 2009

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *