STRAWBS To Send A Biblical “Curse”

It’s been 47 years since STRAWBS presented the world with an epic “Vision Of The Lady Of The Lake” which shone like a gem on their “Dragonfly” despite its 28 verses. Dave Cousins held this composition in a high esteem, as the band’s fans did; that’s possibly why it took the veteran so long to come up with a sequel and make a new piece the title track of a new album. “The Ferryman’s Curse” is scheduled for release on November 3rd and promises to be one of the deepest records in the ensemble’s canon, what with Old Testament-like instrumental “In The Beginning” and “The Nails From The Hands Of Christ” opening the collection, “The Ten Commandments” sitting at its heart, and “We Have The Power” serving as anthemic finale.

There’s also a strong line-up, with Cousins joined by the group’s stalwarts Dave Lambert and Chas Cronk on, respectively, guitar and bass, long-time drummer Tony Fernandez providing driving rhythms, and IONA’s Dave Bainbridge playing keyboards. Hopefully, fresh material will be taken on the road, and Cousins – who reportedly was taken to a hospital yesterday, September 27th – will be well and in top form.

STRAWBS - The Ferryman’s Curse

The Ferryman’s Curse

As for the album, it runs like this (read the review here):

1. In The Beginning
2. The Nails From The Hands Of Christ
3. The Song Of Infinite Sadness
4. The Familiarity Of Old Lovers
5. When The Spirit Moves
6. The Ten Commandments
7. The Reckoning
8. The Ferryman’s Curse
9. Bats And Swallows
10. We Have The Power

September 28, 2017

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *