August 21, 2002


Legends Of Rock, that’s how the classic rock live show is called to hit Britain in November under auspices of Uli Jon Roth. During this three-hour gig, “Deutsch Hendrix” will play his own material featuring an old compadre, ex-JETHRO TULL drummer Clive Bunker, and perform some extra sets together with his friends: Jack Bruce – songs of CREAM, Michael Schenker – SCORPIONS hits, and Glenn Hughes – DEEP PURPLE material. Hopefully, all of this will be recorded for posterity.


Octover 1st will see the release of “Forty Licks”, the two-disc collection of THE ROLLING STONES greatest hits, the first CD being dedicated to ABKCO era material, the second to the Virgin period. Marking the band’s 40th anniversary, the set will include – exactly like promised before – four new songs produced by Don Was. While full tracklisting still remains a secret – though it’s not difficult to guess on some of the songs – the title of the first single has been given away: “Don’t Stop”.


That’s hot, indeed, though these GRAND FUNK RAILROAD recordings were committed to tape 31 years earlier. Anyway, “Live – The 1971 Tour” is a must, just look at it;

1. Intro
2. Are You Ready – Chicago 5/1/71
3. Footstompin’ Music – Detroit 4/29/71
4. Paranoid – Detroit 4/29/71
5. I’m Your Captain – Shea Stadium 7/9/71
6. Hooked On Love – Shea Stadium 7/9/71
7. Get It Together – Shea Stadium 7/9/71
8. T.N.U.C. – Detroit 4/29/71
9. Inside Looking Out – Detroit 4/29/71
10. Gimme Shelter – Shea Stadium 7/9/71
11. Into The Sun – Detroit 4/30/71

No less interesting, though aimed mainly at collectors, is “Trunk Of Funk”, out on August 27th. It’s the box set comprising four first GRAND FUNK re-issues and looking like an old leather trunk with a space left to house another eight classic albums which will be released over the next year. There are stickers for a happy owner to decorate the trunk individually. Each box is numbered and there are only 10,000 copies manufactured.


As it was reported previously, KOCH Records set to release a George Harrison tribute album someday soon. With details to follow, the tentative tracklisting looks like this:
My Sweet Lord – Julian Lennon
Taxman – Bill Wyman’s RHYTHM KINGS
Not Guilty – Dave Davies
I Me Mine – Marc Ford
While My Guitar Gently Weeps – Peter Frampton
Something – Bonnie Bramlett
Wah Wah – HEART
Cloud 9 – Todd Rundgren
If I Needed Someone – THE SMITHEREENS
Here Comes The Sun – Midge Ure
It’s All Too Much – Wayne Kramer
Got My Mind Set On You – Violent Femmes


BARRELHOUSE BROTHERS ain’t a band but a blues brotherhood of THIN LIZZY’s original guitarist Eric Bell and Jimi Hendrix soulmate Noel Redding who plays bass, MOUNTAIN drummer Corky Laing and STATUS QUO skinsman John Coughlan, piano player Colin Earl of MUNGO JERRY and FOGHAT fame, and some less well-known musicians. They are ready to unleash their incendiary music in October, when their first album is out.

1. Too Many Hot Dogs
2. I Want Some Of Your Pie
3. Country Road
4. Just A Dream
5. The Fly
6. Blues In 3/4
7. Can’t Get You Off Of My Mind
8. De Barra’s Boogie
9. Black Dog Blues
10. Wednesday Night Special
11. Twenty One Jezebels
12. Love Crazy
13. It’s No A Secret
14. Love Her With A Feeling
15. Crazy ‘Bout You Baby

August 21, 2002

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *