Jo Harman: an Albert Hall file

In these days of manufactured stars Jo Harman radiates a genuine light. One of the hardest working female artists in show business, it was only last year that she released her impressive debut album, “Dirt On My Tongue,” and since then has been touring almost incessantly – well, perhaps, at the same rate as before but on a larger scale venue-wise. A testament to that is Jo’s forthcoming concert document, “Live At The Albert Hall,” which is going to be an official addition to a string of Harman’s bootleg tapes.

Jo may not agree she’s a blues singer – we had a little argument once – yet she is, and Harman handles soul with equal elegance and power, as suggest not only her own pieces such as “Sweet Man Moses” but also covers like Bobby Bland’s “Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City” which are both present on the new album alongside songs from her studio release and cuts that didn’t make it onto the record. Recorded by BBC, no less, “Live At The Albert Hall” will be out in May on CD and vinyl but there will hardly be a digital release, so it makes sense to make a move.

JO HARMAN - Live At The Albert Hall

Live At The Albert Hall

1. Through The Night
2. Cold Heart
3. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City
4. Amnesty
5. Underneath The River
6. Sweet Man Moses
7. Sideways
8. Better Woman

April 18, 2014

Category(s): News
Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *