July 12, 2006


He’s done so little and, for the last 30 years, lived separately from the myth that surrounded him. Still, Syd Barrett, one of the true trailblazers, who died a couple of days before, will be remembered as a myth, while eternally living as a spirit of the music. He’s gone to play with Emily. Rest in peace, restless but peaceful soul, and ride the steel breeze in the sky.


Five years ago Tony Ashton died, although he reached immortality much earlier. A man full of charm, Tony had his testimonial show a year before he passed away. Now, the concert is to be out on CD and DVD called “Endangered Species Live At Abbey Road”. Yes, it was held at THE BEATLES aural sanctum and recordings were made by the Fabs’ engineer, Geoff Emerick. Introduced by Ewan McGregor, the performance featured TONY ASHTON BAND including Pete York on drums, legendary Chris Barber on trombone and WISHBONE ASH’s former axeman Laurie Wisefield; JOHN ENTWISTLE BAND with Zak Starkey handling the sticks; THE COMPANY OF SNAKES which was the classic WHITESNAKE line-up of Jon Lord, Ian Paice, Bernie Marsden, Micky Moody and Neil Murray, plus ex-BAD CO Robert Hart standing in for David Coverdale; and PAICE, ASHTON, LORD reformed for the only time in their entirety up to backing singers, with only Paul Martinez absent and replaced with Neil Murray. A unique document – and some blistering music.

1. One Room Country Shack
2. Mercy Mercy
3. No Money Down
4. Shake, Rattle & Roll
5. Ain’t Gonna Cry No More
6. Walking In The Shadow Of The Blues
7. Ready An’ Willingr
8. Ain’t No Love (In The Heart Of The City)
9. Here I Go Again
10. Ghost Story
11. Sneaky Private Lee
12. Resurrection Shuffle


It’s just a couple of months that we haven’t heard of Joe Lynn Turner, and that’s a long time for Joe who’s always involved in something good. Last time it was a joint record with Akira Kajiyama, and now there’s SUNSTORM, a studio project comcocted by the Frontiers Records’ masterminds Serafino Perugino and Mario de Riso who a long time ago got a hold of a recording – widely in circulation among fans – of Turner’s second album taped in 1986 to follow in the wake of the previous year’s “Rescue You” but unreleased. A nice slab of AOR, these days it sounds interesting but dated. That’s why the singer, on the Frontiers’ request, decided to have another go at some of those tracks. And there were these:
1. Wind
2. Standing In The Fire Of Love
3. Time To Let Go
4. Together Forever Now
5. Tonight
6. Make A Change
7. Eyes Of A Stranger
8. She’s A Live Wire
9. Where Love’s Gone Wrong
More so, the label has put Joe in touch with erstwhile SURVIVOR leader and brilliant songwriter Jim Peterik, who Turner worked with in the past and who, in the vocalist’s words, had written some good stuff with him and Ritchie Blackmore on what was to become a follow-up to DEEP PURPLE’s “Slaves And Masters” yet never materialised when Joe left the band. Now Peterik presented Turner with handful of new songs, so the SUNSTORM album, to be out on September 22nd, will be a mix of old and fresh material with AOR sound and JLT’s voice a common denominator.

July 12, 2006

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *