June 19, 2002


Lulu has a glorious musical past. She’s been here since the ’60s and never let her fans down. Now, not only her fans, as with the release of Lulu’s newest album, “Together, her music will surely attract many more. Reason? That’s a collection of duets with stars of various calibre – up to three knights, Sir Elton, Sir Cliff and Sir Paul. Who else made onto it? Look and see:

1. Teardrops – with Elton John
2. Shame Shame Shame – with ATOMIC KITTEN
3. Inside Thing (Let ‘Em In) – with Paul McCartney
4. We’ve Got Tonight – with Ronan Keating
5. Sail On Sailor – with Sting
6. Back At One – with WESTLIFE
7. To Sir With Love – with Samantha Mumba
8. With You I’m Born Again – with Marti Pellow
9. The Prayer – with Russell Watson
10. Reunited – with Sir Cliff Richard
11. I’m Back For More – with Bobby Womack
12. Now That The Magic Has Gone – with Joe Cocker
13. Phunk Phoolin – with KERPHUNK
14. Relight My Fire – with TAKE THAT


June 9th is date when Mick Box, Cheshire-cat grinner of URIAH HEEP, was born. With due congratulations to this one hell of DME’s friend, it should be said that the best present Mick received this year is a website of his own: http://www.mick-box.net. Lovely thing is exactly what this lovely guitarist deserves – there’s a lot to be added but what is on now looks great and exactly reflects Mick’s nature. Drop by, that is, and drop Mr Box a line.


“The Country Bears” is a title of the newest Disney film that’s based loosely on the Disney attraction Country Bear Jamboree. The movie will be premiered on July 26th but the soundtrack is due to hit the shelves three days earlier and feature some great singers. Alongside Willie Nelson and John Hiatt there’ll be such mighty animals as Don Henley, who performs a duet with Bonnie Raitt on “Can Love Stand The Test.” and Elton John doing “Friends.”


This autumn will see the release of the new TOTO album “Through The Looking Glass”, unique for two reasons. First, it was recorded independently and it’s only now that the contract is being secured. Second, the album is a collection of perennial classics done TOTO-style. Here are those gems and their original performers:

1. Bodhisattva – STEELY DAN
2. Could You Be Loved – Bob Marley
3. While My Guitar Gently Weeps – THE BEATLES
4. Maiden Voyage / Butterfly – Herbie Hancock
5. Burn Down The Mission – Elton John (featuring Davey Johnstone and Nigel Olsen off Elton’s band)
6. Sunshine Of Your Love – CREAM
7. House Of The Rising Sun – THE ANIMALS
8. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train to Cry – Bob Dylan
9. Watching The Detectives – Elvis Costello
10. Cant Get Next To You – Al Green
11. Livin For The City – Stevie Wonder (featuring Stevie Wonder)

June 19, 2002

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *