Michael Des Barres Reignites The Glitter Era

It’s been a dozen years ago that Michael Des Barres resumed his recording career and let "Carnaby Street" remind the audience there was more to him than a stellar actor talent. Since then, the marquis’ reputation as a singer and songwriter has grown, what with the recent reissues of his platters with SILVERHEAD and DETECTIVE, and a further string of the veteran’s solo releases, all rather often referencing the glitter rock era. No wonder, then, in MDB’s forthcoming album embracing it with much eagerness on a variety of classic covers.

There’s no prizes for guessing one of its pieces, given the 12-track collection is titled “It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll” – after all, Michael cameoed in the “Moves Like Jagger” video – but the rest of the material can surprise some listeners who will find it difficult to imagine a MUD cut share disc space with a VELVET UNDERGROUND evergreen, whereas SLADE and SWEET perennials would be usual suspects in this context. To be out on October 11th, the record is, as the artist sees it, Des Barres’ musical autobiography, but, first and foremost, it’s a lot of fun for the future listener.

It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll

1. Dyna-Mite (MUD)
2. Love Is The Drug (ROXY MUSIC)
3. Moonage Daydream (David Bowie)
4. 20th Century Boy (T. REX)
5. Search And Destroy (Iggy and THE STOOGES)
6. I’m Waiting For The Man (VELVET UNDERGROUND)
7. Fox On The Run (SWEET)
8. All The Young Dudes (MOTT THE HOOPLE)
9. Cum On Feel The Noize (SLADE)
10. Stay With Me (FACES)
11. I’m Eighteen (ALICE COOPER)
12. It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It) (THE ROLLING STONES)

May 8, 2024

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *