October 22, 2002


It’s an axiom that THE BEATLES‘ songs are prevented from inclusion into any legitimate compilation – and there were not more than a couple of those whilst the band still existed – but here they are: two classics, “A Hard Day’s Night” and “Hey Jude”, will be included in 6-CD set “Capitol Records: 1942-2002” that’s out this month to commemorate the label’s 60th anniversary. Alongside other perennials, the collection includes four solo Fab tracks – John Lennon’s “Imagine”, Paul McCartney’s “Band On the Run”, Ringo Starr’s “It Don’t Come Easy” and George Harrison’s “My Sweet Lord”.


Meanwhile, close to the sad date marking the first year of George Harrison‘s death, The American Ballet Theater is paying tribute to the late great artist with a show called “Within You And Without You: A Tribute To George Harrison”. Designed by famous choreographers Natalie Weir, Ann Reinking, David Parsons and Stanton Welch, it’s set to the orchestral versions of Hari’s songs, both recorded with THE BEATLES – “Within And Without You”, “Something” and “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” – and solo: “My Sweet Lord”, “I Dig Love” and “Isn’t It A Pity”. The world premiere of the ballet took place at New York’s City Center om October 18th.


One could hardly call Rod Stewart too British – or Scot – a singer. The raspy warbler always had this soft spot for American music – yet rather black than white. Now, Rod’s focus moved a bit towards standards catalogue which he explores on a new album, “It Had To Be You … The Great American Songbook”, delivering evergreens by Gershwin and the like. To shine even more brightly, Stewart requested for some brass to be added, and his guests are renown trumpeter Arturo Sandoval and saxophonists Michael Brecker and Dave Koz.

1. Everytime We Say Goodbye (with Dave Koz)
2. That Old Feeling (with Arturo Sandoval)
3. I’ll Be Seeing You
4. That’s All
5. Where Or When
6. It Had to Be You (with Michael Brecker)
7. For All We Know
8. These Foolish Things (with Dave Koz)
9. Moonglow (with Arturo Sandoval)
10. The Way You Look Tonight
11. The Nearness Of You
12. You Go To My Head
13. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
14. We’ll Be Together Again
15. The Very Thought Of You


With The Legends Of Rock Tour kicking off on November 13th, with the latest addition – alongside Uli Jon Roth, Jack Bruce, Michael Schenker and Glenn Hughes – being Frank Marino and MAHOGANY RUSH, there’s a live document out of the first Legends performance which was held last year. Called “Live at Castle Donington 2001”, the double CD set and a DVD feature Roth, Bruce and UFO. It’s there and then that Uli Roth chanced to play with Schenker, who replaced him in SCORPIONS back in 1979, and Bruce, who came on-stage for a couple of CREAM numbers. So that’s how it all goes…

CD 1:

1. Sky Overture
2. Concerto d’Aranjuez
3. Let It Roll
4. Rock Bottom
5. Sunshine Of Your Love
6. White Room
7. All Along The Watchtower
8. Little Wing

CD 2:

1. Trail In The Wind
2. Midnight Train
3. The King Returns
4. Spoonful
5. Doctor Doctor
6. Fireworks Jam


1. Trail In The Wind
2. Sky Overture
3. Concerto d’Aranjuez
4. The King Returns
5. Let It Roll
6. Rock Bottom
7. Sunshine Of Your Love
8. White Room
9. All Along The Watchtower
10. Little Wing
11. Doctor Doctor
12. Fireworks Jam
13. Atlantis
bonus tracks:
14. Midnight Train
15. Spoonful
Special feature:
Live photo material


November 26th will see the DVD release of The Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert film recorded ten years ago at Wembley Arena in memory of the late great QUEEN primadonna. A glorious performance, one to re-live and enjoy endlessly – and, as Freddie sang, there’s only tears to dwell upon now.

Disc 1:

1. Tie Your Mother Down – QUEEN with Joe Elliott and Slash
2. I Want It All – QUEEN with Roger Daltrey and Tony Iommi
3. Las Palabras De Amor – QUEEN with Zucchero
4. Hammer To Fall – QUEEN with Gary Cherone and Tony Iommi
5. Stone Cold Crazy – QUEEN with James Hetfield and Tony Iommi
6. Crazy Little Thing Called Love – QUEEN with Robert Plant
7. Too Much Love Will Kill You – Brian May
8. Radio Ga Ga – QUEEN with Paul Young
9. Who Wants To Live Forever – QUEEN with Seal
10. I Want To Break Free – QUEEN with Lisa Stansfield
11. Under Pressure – QUEEN with David Bowie and Annie Lennox
12. All The Young Dudes – QUEEN with Ian Hunter, David Bowie and Mick Ronson
13. Heroes – QUEEN with David Bowie and Mick Ronson
14. ’39 – QUEEN with George Michael
15. These Are The Days Of Our Lives – QUEEN with George Michael and Lisa Stansfield
16. Somebody To Love – QUEEN with George Michael
17. Bohemian Rhapsody – QUEEN with Elton John and Axl Rose
18. The Show Must Go On – QUEEN with Elton John
19. We Will Rock You – QUEEN with Axl Rose
20. We Are The Champions – Liza Minnelli and entire cast
Extra feature:
Rehearsals at Bray Studios

Disc 2:

1. TV Documentary
2. Freddie Mercury Inserts
3. Photo gallery
4. Mercury Phoenix Trust


John Young, a highly talented keyboard player whose art complemented, among others, the music of John WettonKen Hensley, Fish and SCORPIONS, now has an ensemble of his own called simply THE JOHN YOUNG BAND. The group, consisting of John Mitchell (ARENA) on guitar, John Jowitt (IQ, JADIS) on bass and Steve Christey (JADIS) on drums, were to play their debut gig on October 26th but had to pull the plug due to Mitchell’s illness. The show was postponed with no new date provided as of yet, but the next scheduled concert will be held on December 28th in Bradford. Get well John and the guys!


Classic Rock Festival, the American leg of which took place on October 5th and 6th and the British one will follow on November 29th and 30th, has much to be remembered for, yet an oustanding event should be considered the reunion of the NEKTAR original line-up, featuring Larry Fast of SYNERGY fame on keyboards, and reconstruction of their legendary liquid light show. Now, this unique performance may be relished by those who wasn’t and won’t be present there in flesh – on DVD, with a CD to follow. Blame Classic Rock Productions for it all.

1. A Tab In The Ocean
2. Desolation
3. Valley
4. Recycled
5. Remember The Future
6. Nellie
7. It’s All Over
8. Marvellous Moses
9. King Of Twilight
Extra features:
Bonus tracks
Behind the scenes

October 22, 2002

Category(s): News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.