Richard Thompson: acoustic readjustment

It’s not so common a thing for a guitarist to be an OBE, but for Richard Thompson the order had been in order for a long time. One of the most innovative musicians, he made a string of classic records with FAIRPORT CONVENTION and his then-wife Linda in the ’70s, yet Thompson’s solo career is criminally understated, although true aficionados follow him steadily to find a dim delight on any of Richard’s albums. The highlights of these can be interpreted in different ways, as the veteran demonstrated over the years at his shows, both with and without the band, electrified or unplugged, and it’s the latter approach that underlies his latest offering, “Acoustic Classics,” out today.

There’s no FAIRPORT material on this one, while the songs done originally with Linda are present. A great selection! Read the review.

RICHARD THOMPSON - Acoustic Classics

Acoustic Classics

1. I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight
2. Walking On A Wire
3. Wall Of Death
4. Down Where The Drunkards Roll
5. One Door Opens
6. Persuasion
7. 1952 Vincent Black Lightning
8. I Misunderstood
9. From Galway To Graceland
10. Valerie
11. Shoot Out The Lights
12. Beeswing
13. When The Spell Is Broken
14. Dimming Of The Day

July 14, 2014

Category(s): News
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *