There’s a lot of bands that play blues, but there’s only one that’s proudly called THE BLUES BAND: a glorious conglomerate of British veterans of the genre – the core of Paul Jones, Tom McGuinness, Dave Kelly, Gary Fletcher and Rob Townsend, plus prominent guests – who have been together since 1979. Not intermittently, no – they stopped for a few years in 1982 after a farewell tour, which, fortunately, proved to be not their final trek. Yet the one the veterans are on right now will signal the group’s very end, as will “So Long” – they’re umpteenth studio offering scheduled for a March 2022 release as CD, digital download and 2LP, because the album contains 65 mins of music.

This time, the collective’s invitees include such luminaries as Steve Simpson, Zoot Money, Albert Lee and Hugh Flint. And while the band’s originals hold no surprises, repertoire-wise, a cover of “To Love Somebody” may raise several pair of brows. An essential proposition, save for the covert photo that have graced a bunch of other records by now.

So Long

1. Hard Times Killing Floor – vocals: Dave Kelly
2. Sweet Sweet Girl – vocals: Paul Jones
3. Tough Times – vocals: Dave Kelly, organ: Zoot Money
4. Hoggin’ – vocals: Paul Jones
5. Don’t Let It Be You – vocals: Gary Fletcher
6. Them Ol’ Crossroads Blues – vocals: Dave Kelly
7. Don’t Ever Let Nobody Drag Your Spirit Down – vocals: Paul Jones
8. Midnight Bus – vocals: Tom McGuinness
9. To Love Somebody – vocals: Dave Kelly, organ: Zoot Money
10. Something You Heard – vocals: Paul Jones
11. Bring On The Blues – vocals: Tom McGuinness
12. Ti Fi Une Grande Dame Maintenant (Big Girl) –
      vocals: Dave Kelly, guitar: Albert Lee, bodhrán: Hughie Flint
13. Come On Give Me Some Blues – vocals: Paul Jones
14. My Love Made You Wrong – vocals: Gary Fletcher
15. Tough Love – vocals: Paul Jones
16. Tick Tock – vocals: Dave Kelly

December 21, 2021

Category(s): News
Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *